Fri Oct 20 12:47:01 SAST 2017

Talent honoured at the 18th MTN SAMAs

2012-04-30 11:51:24.0 | BOITUMELO TLHOAELE |

The much anticipated 18th MTN SAMAs kicked off with smooth proceedings on Sunday evening at Sun City's Royal Ballroom.

Artists Ray Phiri and Vusi Mahlasela were awarded with the Lifetime Achievement award. Picture taken from

The awards also known as the "industry awards" honoured the behind the scenes talent of the music industry as well other aspects such as the best download, the best live DVD and the best remix to name but a few. But what made the evening more special was Artists Ray Phiri and Vusi Mahlasela being awarded with the Lifetime Achievement awards. 

Proceedings went underway with Minister of Arts and Culture Paul Mashatile who officially opened the ceremony. He gave special mention to the two Legends.  Mashatile thanked the two for their contribution to the South African music industry at large. Saying about Phiri he said, "we say thank you for your inspiration to generations through music." About Mahlasela he said "we thank you for preaching reconciliation through your music... For furthering the cause for freedom in songs like When You Come Back.

"Stimela performed some of the band's hits, such as "Whispers in the Deep" (Phinda Mzala), and Mahlasela's " When you come back Home".  The band was supported and joined by artists Kabomo, the legendary, Sipho Hotstix Mabuse, Lira Selaelo Selota and Solly Mahlangu who all sang songs of the honoured artists.

During the performance of the song "Phinda Mzala" Ray Phiri took to the stage and wowed the audience with his famous and animated radical dance moves. He later sang together with Mahlasela Blue Bright's "Weeping".  

The hosts of the evening were Tumi Morake and Tats Nkonzo who did a superb job making everyone laugh in between the announcements.  The first night proved to be a success, perhaps a good sign of what's to follow at tonight's Main event which will be held at the Super Bowl.

The Awards will be screened tonight on SABC1.

The Winners

Best Producer won by: Dan Roberts for Laurie Lavine's 6 Winter Album Best Engineer: Johan van der Colff for "Loliwe"

Best Music Video of the Year: Ryan Peimer for the Parlotones' Its Magic.

Best Live DVD: Simphiwe Dana

Best Remix of the Year: DJ Sbu featuring Zahara for Lengoma

Best Ringtone download: DJ Cleo's Facebook

Best Selling ring back tone: DJ Cleo Facebook

Best Selling full track download: Zahara Loliwe.

Most Palyed Song: Liquid Deep, Alone

Your Subscription

The Sunday World Network